You Should Try Firefox

When I began thinking about starting a blog a few weeks ago this was going to be my first post . . . followed by some other web tools I love . . . a few other things got in the way, but here it is:

firefoxI gave up Internet Explorer a year ago, maybe more.  I had read about Firefox as an alternate browser in a few places, and figured “it’s free so why not”? Here is why I have kept it as my primary browser:

🙂 I like to have lots of tabs open (I have 6 right now) and with Firefox I can easily open a link in a new tab (especially great when a page has lots of links I want to check out without losing my place) and move tabs around.

🙂 I can start typing any part of a web address *or page name* in the address bar to return to a page I’ve visited before. firefox-address-bar

🙂 I can customize my search options.  There are 231 search add-ons available.  Here are the ones I use:

Firefox search options

Firefox search options

🙂 It remembers my passwords (I also have another tool I use for passwords . . . but that is a post for another day).

🙂 Searching page text is so easy.

Firefox Find

Firefox Find

🙂 The add-ons are awesome.  The ones I use daily at home and at work are Adblock (what ads on the side of Facebook?), Delicious (more about that one another day), and Twitterfox.  I also use some of the more basic functions of Firebug and Colorzilla when working on the church website.

Have you tried Firefox?

4 Comments

  1. I’ve wondered about Firefox as I’ve noticed that this is all they use in the classrooms at school but I’ve never bothered to try it. Might give it a go now – so can I just download it from somewhere??

Leave a Reply

