Rollerskating? What Was I Thinking?

Our church group for 4th & 5th graders went rollerskating yesterday.  Since I have both a 4th grader and a 5th grader, I thought I’d better help out.  Some of the chaperons wisely chose not to skate.  I was not one of the wise ones.

I used to love to skate, but it had been a while.  Probably six years since I had last skated and many years since I really could skate – you know what I mean. Before I made a whole lap around the rink I was waving my arms around like crazy trying to keep my balance and second-guessing my choice and feeling all those muscles I forgot I had. It was quite a sight.

After a while it started to come back to me.  Occasionally I would channel the the teenager I once was at “Roller World”, but only for a moment and then a kid from the 5-year-old birthday party would fall down right in front of me and all I could do was pray that I didn’t’ crash into him.  Although I did manage to keep from actually falling, there were plenty of graceless crashes into the side wall (stopping techniques must have been buried much deeper in my subconscious). I was finding my groove about the time we played dodgeball, but I have a sneaking suspicion that the only reason I lasted so long is that they didn’t want to pick on the old lady 🙂

When the session ended with YMCA I felt not quite so old after all.  It was reassuring that the ultimate rollerskating theme song has not changed.  I came home suffering only from a bruised knee from one of those graceless crashes and a huge blister.  And surprisingly, the next dayI did not suffer nearly as much as I thought I might.

I guess my only mistake was not skating often enough!

Leave a Reply

