My First Cell Phone

So I’ve finally gone and done it, I’ve bought my first cell phone. I guess, technically, it’s more “our” cell phone than “my” cell phone, as it will be shared with my husband and kids… but let’s be real, I’ll probably have it most of the time.

There are two things that have been holding me back from getting one sooner. One is the potential cost… I am, shall we say, frugal, and we probably will end up with 3 cell phones in the near future. The other is my existing PDA, nothing fancy (Palm Zire 21), but it works for me and I wanted to be able to replace it instead of add another gadget.

I’d been looking around at prepaid options for a while, and settled on Straight Talk (largely based on these posts). I ran over to Walmart after work on Monday and picked up a $40 LG220C with a $30 service card. That gets me 1000 minutes, 1000 texts, & 30MB data to use in 30 days.  There are also ‘unlimited’ 30-day cards available for $45. I can do that.

It took me only a few minutes to get it set up (I understand it can be more complicated if you are transferring an existing number, but I didn’t have to worry about that). Besides my general unfamiliarity with cell phones, I haven’t had any problems so far. I was able to call my home phone, send text messages, set up text updates for twitter, and go online to facebook and twitter within the first hour. The next morning I figured out how to set a photo from my facebook album as the wallpaper. The only unexpected thing so far is a voice announcement of how many minutes are left every time you make a call (before it goes through). I have read that I may be able to have that turned off by calling customer service, but for now I don’t mind it.

My next task is to find a replacement for the HandyShopper app on my PDA that I rely on so much… I’ve started looking, but so far not settled on anything… will let you know…

Leave a Reply

