Pull-Apart Herb Bread

When I saw this recipe for Cinnamon Sugar Pull-Apart Bread I just had to try it with my favorite bread dough recipe!

Pull-Apart Herb BreadSite Stats


I’ve been making variations on this easy bread recipe since I borrowed Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day from the local library last year. My “usual” variation is equal parts white, wheat, and rye flour, but for this recipe I used all white (my mother-in-law already had rye bread for this particular meal). Also, I wanted something savory rather than sweet to go with her soup, so went for herbs rather than cinnamon and sugar. It turned out well, and I made it again (with a few tweaks) for a staff potluck at church yesterday…

White Boule, Seasoning

I started with 1/3 of a recipe of White Boule dough. I’m sure any kind of bread dough would work fine, even frozen store-bought dough.

For seasoning I used

  • 1 TB canola oil
  • 1 TB butter
  • 1 tsp dried basil
  • 1 tsp dried parsley
  • 1 tsp dried marjoram
  • 1/2 tsp dried rosemary
  • 1/2 tsp ground thyme
  • 1 clove minced garlic
I melted the oils and dried herbs together in the microwave for 20 seconds (2 10-second bursts) and then mixed in the garlic. Then I let that cool, since the dough I use tends to disintegrate if you put anything hot on it.
I rolled out the dough with lots of four until it was quite thin and maybe about 18″ across, and then spread the seasoning mixture on. I cut the dough into 8 strips..

stacking

I stacked up the strips, then cut the stack into 8 squares.

In the pan

I arranged the squares of layers into a bread pan. The pan was then covered with a plastic bag and put in the refrigerator until morning (I was taking this to work so wanted to just be able to put it in the oven the next morning).  The photo on the right shows what it looked like the next morning. I had planned time to let it sit on the counter to rise before baking, but decided this was good enough and ended up leaving it in the fridge until I turned the oven on.

I baked this according to the standard directions for the boule dough. I preheated the oven to 450 degrees for 20 minutes with a shallow pan on the bottom shelf and a pizza stone on the middle shelf. During this time the pan of dough sat on top of the stove. When I put the loaf in, I poured water (about a cup) in the shallow pan to create steam.

done!

I baked it for 30 minutes. It tipped right out of the pan, and we ate it warm with lots of melty butter during staff meeting 🙂

Leave a Reply

